Upper Pump Room, Strathpeffer
The first published account of the qualities of the ‘Castle Leod Water’ was given to the Royal Society in 1772 by Dr Donald Munro. By 1800, Strathpeffer had become recognised as a ‘spa’. The building known as the Upper Pump Room remains as testimony to the spa. Built in 1860, it was enlarged in 1890 and again in 1909.
The Upper Pump Room and its adjacent gardens have been carefully restored to recreate the style and atmosphere of the Victorian era in a project undertaken by the Highland Council. The Trust project managed the restoration of the Upper Pump Room on behalf of the Council. The restoration of the building was completed in June 2001, including the re-connection of the mineral waters supplied from the five wells that were originally dispensed from the building. The total project cost was £630,000. The restored building now houses a range of interpretive displays which reveal the history behind the development of the Spa and visitors can again sample the healing waters.
|LDN Architects||Conservation Architect and Lead Consultant|
|KLM Partnership||Quantity Surveyors|
|Elliot and Co||Structural Engineers|
|GLA Design||Interpretive Consultants|
Funding for the project was secured from the following organisations to enable it to proceed: The Heritage Lottery Fund, Historic Scotland, ERDF (Objective 1 and Hi Attractions), Ross and Cromarty Enterprise and The Highland Council.